Wednesday, March 13 2019
12:30pm - 2:00pm
Clough Undergraduate Learning Commons, Room 423
Free food
For more information:

Alessio Medda, Chair, SPS Atlanta Chapter


Add To My Calendar
IEEE SPS Atlanta Lecture - Prof. Yimin Zhang - Temple University

Time-Frequency Analysis for Frequency Modulated Signals

Prof. Yimin Zhang
Associate Professor at Temple University

Abstract. This talk will discuss time-frequency analysis methods and applications for FM signals using both single-sensor and multi-sensor systems. We first review the interplayed role of the spatial dimension and time-frequency representation for improved time-frequency signature characterization, source discrimination, and signal enhancement. We then introduce recent advances of nonstationary signal analysis and array processing in the following two areas: (a) Nonparametric instantaneous frequency estimation of multi-component signals with closely separated time-varying frequency signatures, and (b) Sparse reconstruction of time-frequency signatures and instantaneous frequency estimation for FM signals with random missing time entries. These methods are supported by application examples including DOA estimation, target localization, and interference mitigation.

Biography. Dr. Zhang graduated from Xidian University, China, and received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Tsukuba, Japan. He is currently an Associate Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Temple University. His general research interests lie in the areas of statistical signal and array processing, time-frequency analysis, compressive sensing, and convex optimization for applications in radar, wireless communications, and satellite navigation.  He is an Associate Professor for IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, an Associate Editor for the Signal Processing journal, and is a member of the Sensor Array and Multichannel (SAM) Technical Committee and the Signal Processing Theory and Methods (SPTM) Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He received the 2016 IET Radar, Sonar & Navigation Premium Award, 2017 IEEE AESS Mimno Award, and is a coauthor of a paper receiving the 2018 IEEE SPS Young Author Best Paper Award. He is a fellow of IEEE.

Click images in enlarge.