Wednesday, April 18 2018
All day
Georgia Tech Student Center, 350 Ferst Drive NW, Atlanta, GA 30332
$250, standard registration; $150 students and postdocs
For more information:
Add To My Calendar
Soft Matter Forefronts Symposium

Georgia Tech's Soft Matter Incubator (SMI) proudly brings to campus leading researchers in the field of soft matter in the Soft Matter Forefronts Symposium, on April 18-20, 2018.

SMI is part of of the Center for the Science and Technology of Advanced Materials and Interfaces (STAMI). SMI asks fundamental questions about soft matter, which is defined as matter with large response functions, often governed by large entropic contributions to the free energy. Polymer solutions and gels, colloidal suspensions, liquid crystals, aerosols, granular matter, emulsions,  and foams are examples of soft matter. 

The symposium aims familiarize the attendees with the soft-matter research and expertise in Georgia Tech and to demonstrate the role Georgia Tech plays in influencing and advancing the field. 

The symposium is intended for graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, and faculty researchers engaged or interested in the field of soft matter. 

To attend, register here

Confirmed Speakers

  • Anna Balazs, University of Pittsburgh
  • Ludovic Berthier, Universite de Montpellier
  • Mark Bowick, Syracuse University
  • Francoise Brochard-Wyart, Institut Curie
  • Paul Chaikin, New York University
  • Olivier Dauchot, Ecole Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles
  • Paul Goldbart, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Randy Kamien, University of Pennsylvania
  • Xiaoming Mao, University of Michigan
  • Sid Nagel, University of Chicago
  • Omar Saleh, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Ileana Streinu, Smith College
  • Martin van Hecke, University of Leiden
  • Dave Weitz, Harvard University
  • Tim White, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Arjun Yodh, University of Pennsylvania

Georgia Tech Organizers

  • Alex Alexeev, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
  • Blair Brettman, School of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Alberto Fernandez-Nieves, School of Physics
  • Sabetta Matsumoto, School of Physics
  • Zeb Rocklin, School of Physics
  • Peter Yunker, School of Physics


    Click images in enlarge.